Robert Martinez

Robert Martinez









Robert Martinez represents Government on the TTMAG board.

He is a former student of St. Mary’s College, winning the President’s Medal in 2005. He has a BA in Economics from McGill University,and an MSc in Science and Technology Policy from the University of Sussex.

Robert has been a Policy Analyst at the National Institute of Higher Education, Research, Science and Technology (NIHERST) for over five (5) years, and previously worked as a Research Assistant at the Ministry of Trade and Industry, in the Trade and Business Development Directorates.

As a member of NIHERST’s Policy, Research and Intelligence Department, he has been involved in research looking at innovation in the local ICT sector, including software and web development, as well as animation.

Ajmal Nazir

Ajmal Nazir









Ajmal Nazir graduated in Computer Systems Engineering (Beng) from City University, London.  Joined Goldman Sachs in their Enterprise Technology division being responsible for real time business critical trading systems.

Ajmal has been responsible for the technology in Green Dot.  He specialises in all facets of digital wireless communications and signal processing, both low and high powered digital RF transmission and interference management.  Ajmal has also implemented business process mapping and automation.

He has been part of a number of technical and other working committees with TATT, he has worked with the Electrical Department of UWI and regularly gives presentations at regional telecom conferences.  He has very strong legal and regulatory appreciation.  Currently hold the Vice Chair for TTIXP as well as the Director of Strategy and Growth for Green Dot across the Caribbean.

He is also a member of the Caribbean Corporate Governance Institute.

Mission of the MAG

The purpose of the Trinidad and Tobago Multistakeholder Advisory Committee (TTMAG) is to be an independent entity for the promotion and development of best practice policy standards for the .tt country code Top Level Domain (ccTLD) and the local Internet ecosystem in the interest of the Internet Community with the following objectives:

  • To serve the needs of any specific, cohesive community of interest and the local Internet community in the context of Internet evolution particularly in education, Internet infrastructure development, Internet standards and experimentation, public policies and regulatory co-ordination regarding Internet content and services, and contributing to Internet governance;
  • promote activities consistent with .tt ccTLD’s role and purposes in Trinidad and Tobago
  • to generally encourage the above objectives through projects and initiatives to increase awareness and local participation
  • to represent the local Internet Community at conferences and meetings.

About the TTMAG

The Trinidad and Tobago Network Information Centre (TTNIC) manages the registration and maintenance of all domains that end in the .tt suffix.

The Trinidad and Tobago Multistakeholder Advisory Group (TTMAG) was formed out of consultations with Internet stakeholders on the .tt country code Top Level Domain (ccTLD) held by the Government of Trinidad and Tobago in 2009.  A Multistakeholder management model was preferred by most stakeholders, which subscribed to the General Principles of Internet Governance.  A Multistakeholer Advisory Group (MAG) was considered a fair and legitimate way to develop ccTLD policy. Given customer and stakeholder requests to update the .tt user experience, the MAG was also suggested as a way to have the TTNIC continue to focus on technical excellence, and have the MAG deal with marketing, policy and other less technical issues.

TTNIC discussed with many stakeholder organisations, and accepted volunteers to form the Interim MAG. The Interim MAG determined the initial structure and the terms of reference of the MAG, registered the company, and confirmed the stakeholder organisations participating,  towards forming the formal TTMAG.  The formal TTMAG was constituted in September 2015. Stakeholders included:

  • Government
  • Internet users
  • Academia
  • Technical community
  • Civil society
  • Business/SMEs